Anurag Thakur

Anurag Thakur Chairman of India’s Parliamentary Committee on IT

Member of Parliament (LS) & Chairman of India's Parliamentary Committee on IT

Mr Anurag Thakur
 is a three time elected Member of Parliament (Lower House) from Himachal Pradesh, India. He belongs to the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and is the only leader to have served a third term as the National President of its youth wing, the Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha (BJYM), an organisation of over a million members. He is the Chairman of India’s Parliamentary Standing Committee on Information Technology, a member of the Public Accounts Committee and also a BJP Parliamentary Party Spokesperson.

A recipient of the Best Young Parliamentarian Award in 2011 and Young Global Leader 2014 by the World Economic Forum, Mr. Thakur was featured in the Financial Times ‘25 Indians to Watch’ list. In a nationwide survey, he was rated amongst India’s Top 10 MP’s for his parliamentary performance and commitments to society at large.

Mr. Thakur is also a sports administrator leading the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) as its Honorary Joint Secretary, the Indian Olympic Association (IOA) as its Vice-President, the Chairman of ICC’s Development Committee and a member of the ICC’s F&CA Committee.

He is credited with building the world famous Dharamshala Cricket Stadium.

In 2013 he founded the Honour Our Women Foundation, an initiative towards the empowerment of women in India. He is also a member of various issue based forums on Tuberculosis, HIV/AIDS and climate change.

He has conceptualized a 3E’s model that focuses on ‘Education, Employment & Empowerment’ for the youth, and been a strong voice on national security, government accountability, climate change, socio-political and economic issues.

Back To Speakers

  Register for One Globe 2018